Defence Innovation Network will invest $800,000 to develop two cutting-edge prototypes for Defence.


Two projects will be funded though the DIN Strategic Investment Initiative and Pilot Project programs that aim to deliver prototypes within a 12-18 month time frame, suitable for a ‘demonstration’ of the new capability of the integrated system.
The creation of such prototypes is expected to enable a more straightforward commercialisation pathway, draw attention and interest from Defence and other companies and facilitate significant domestic investment through, for example, the Advanced Strategic Capabilities Accelerator.


Project proposals should be scoped within the following topics:



Lead organisation

Proposals must demonstrate multi-disciplinary and multi-institutional collaboration. Projects must be led by DIN University with substantive inputs from at minimum two DIN universities in total.

Project teams may include Australian businesses and non-DIN member university researchers.

Individual researchers

All project participants must be citizens of the Five Eyes Alliance (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, the United States) or NATO member countries.

Application process

The application form and guidelines are available on request at

Applicants interested in participating in the call should contact DIN to register their interest, stating the topic of their interest, and potential collaborators.

Applicants are expected to consult with their DIN university coordinators before submitting their application to DIN.

Completed proposals must be submitted electronically by 5 pm, 21 June 2024, to

Indicative Timeline

13-May-24                   Call for Proposals
21-Jun-24                    Applications due
Jul-24                           Technical Review Panel Assessment
29-Jul-24                      Result announcement
Aug-Sep-24                 Contracting
01-Oct-24                    Project Start


Our Partner Universities

Australian National University logo
Charles Sturt University logo
Macquarie university logo
University of New South Wales logo
University of Newcastle logo
University of Sydney logo
University of Wollongong logo
University of Technology Sydney logo
Western Sydney University logo