Defence Innovation Network (DIN) welcomes the Australian National University (ANU) to our network of world leading research universities. ANU will be DIN’s eighth member joining the University of Sydney, UTS, UNSW, Macquarie, Wollongong, Newcastle and Western Sydney University.

With DIN’s success in providing world-class research and innovation to the defence sector in Australia and to our closest allies, ANU’s world leading capabilities across nuclear science, quantum technology, artificial intelligence, space research, national security and strategic defence studies will complement DIN activities worldwide.

NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte said “I am delighted to welcome ANU into the DIN and look forward to working with both ANU and collaborating with the ACT Government”.

Australian National University’s Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation) Professor Keith Nugent said “Our defence research is playing an important role in developing cutting-edge technologies to make Australia a safer place to live. We are excited to join DIN and leverage its combined power and industry connections to provide innovative solutions for Defence.”

Australia’s Chief Defence Scientist, Professor Tanya Monro AC, said “Collaboration with research partners and industry plays a critical role in Australia’s ability to shape, deter and respond to the emerging threat environment. We welcome the ANU joining DIN, bringing with them world leading capabilities.

DIN’s role is to facilitate engagement between research groups that produce technologies of relevance to Defence, and to provide exciting, value-add collaborative business opportunities. Our goal is to improve technology for the Defence end-user and to help boost our stakeholders’ interests in a $195+ billion defence market. 

Our Partner Universities

Australian National University logo
Charles Sturt University logo
Macquarie university logo
University of New South Wales logo
University of Newcastle logo
University of Sydney logo
University of Wollongong logo
University of Technology Sydney logo
Western Sydney University logo