Sydney, 08 November 2023

Defence Innovation Network (DIN) proudly welcomes Charles Sturt University as a key collaborator in its mission to pioneer cutting-edge research for the Australian Defence Force.

Charles Sturt is now part of a prestigious consortium alongside eight other members, which includes the Australian National University, Macquarie University, University of New South Wales, University of Newcastle, University of Sydney, University of Wollongong, University of Technology Sydney and Western Sydney University.

Professor Ganna Pogrebna, Executive Director of Artificial Intelligence and Cyber Futures Institute (AICF) at Charles Sturt University is enthusiastic about the partnership, stating, “Charles Sturt University and the AICF are excited to join the Defence Innovation Network.”

“It signifies a pioneering collaboration that underlines our shared commitment to world-class research, innovation, and forging pathways in defence research and development.”

“As we embark on this journey, our aim is not just to enhance NSW’s defence science capabilities, but also to advocate for the importance of regional Defence research.”

NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte said, “This partnership underscores the significance of research and innovation to the DIN, highlighting the critical role that universities like Charles Sturt University play in driving advancements in Defence. “

Australia’s Chief Defence Scientist, Professor Tanya Monro AC, said, “We warmly welcome Charles Sturt as they join DIN. Their expertise will undoubtedly enhance our collective ability to address the evolving challenges in Defence and innovation.”

DIN is a university-led initiative of the NSW Government and the Defence Science and Technology Group to enhance NSW & ACT Defence industry capability through collaboration between industry and universities. Since its establishment in 2017, DIN has attracted over 120 projects representing more than $120 million in cutting-edge defence-related R&D investment, leading to already commercialised new capabilities and next-generation innovations.

Our Partner Universities

Australian National University logo
Charles Sturt University logo
Macquarie university logo
University of New South Wales logo
University of Newcastle logo
University of Sydney logo
University of Wollongong logo
University of Technology Sydney logo
Western Sydney University logo