The National Intelligence Postdoctoral Grant (NIPG) is a new initiative, which involves the sponsorship of unclassified academic research designed to achieve Australian Government objectives for research and innovation in national intelligence and security.

The program will offer funding for Postdoctoral Research Fellow positions for early career researchers to undertake academic research in relation to Research Problems, and will run annually from 2021 to 2024 with each position funded full time for a period of 2 years (up to $350,000).

2021 Research Problems:

NIPG-2021-001: Explainable and Trustworthy Artificial Intelligence

NIPG-2021-002: Forecasting climate impacts upon agriculture, water supply and public health in South East Asia and the Pacific

NIPG-2021-003: To find a needle in a haystack, build a needlestack: a novel technique to tackle large-scale class imbalance

NIPG-2021-004: Information security classification of disparate data: artificial intelligence and machine learning

NIPG-2021-005: Cyber influence on behaviour change: prevalence, predictors, progress and prevention

NIPG-2021-006: Digital Cities/Countries for Intelligence and investigative purposes

NIPG-2021-007: Satellite IoT communications

NIPG-2021-008: Optimal and Autonomous Control of Satellite Formations

NIPG-2021-009: Development of Methods to Identify, Detect, and Describe Synthetically Derived Biological Systems.


To be eligible the postdoctoral candidate must:

  • Be an Australian citizen, Australian permanent resident or New Zealand Special Category Visa Holder,
  • Have a PhD in a relevant field, conferred before the beginning of the postdoctoral position and within five years of the application closing date,
  • Propose to undertake academic research at an accredited Australian University.

To be eligible the Research Advisor must be an employee of the sponsored accredited Australian Universit

Applications close at 4pm on 18 March 2021.

Our Partner Universities

Australian National University logo
Charles Sturt University logo
Macquarie university logo
University of New South Wales logo
University of Newcastle logo
University of Sydney logo
University of Wollongong logo
University of Technology Sydney logo
Western Sydney University logo