The Office of the NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer is calling for expressions of interest for research and innovation infrastructure to be located at the new Tech Central precinct in Sydney.

The program will provide up to $8 million in grant funding through the Tech Central Research and Innovation Infrastructure Fund to support cutting-edge technologies, emerging industries and research translation in the precinct.

Who can apply?

Applicants must be headquartered and/or have a major research/innovation presence located in NSW

• Universities
• Research organisations or institutions
• NSW-located National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Strategy facilities 
• Consortium-based applicants bringing together industry, university, specialist research organisations and/or publicly funded research organisations 
• Organisations or industry applicants

What can be funded?

Infrastructure grants may be provided for any of the below which are directly targeted at driving innovation in Tech Central:
• major equipment
• laboratory facilities
• highly-skilled technical experts or facility managers
• specialised technologies and systems
• industry-focused collaborative programs driving access to infrastructure and commercialisation

Application process

Applicants are encouraged to collaborate on proposals with university and industry partners, where appropriate and can apply as a consortium of organisations. For this reason, the process to apply for the Tech Central Research and Innovation Infrastructure Fund is a two-step process:

1. Expression of Interest (EoI) – closing COB Friday 17 June 2022

EoI will require a brief overview of the proposal in
development, the partners involved and the impact/rationale for this infrastructure investment in Tech Central and should be emailed to

2. Request for Proposal (RFP) – closing COB Friday 29 July 2022
The RFP process will require the applicant to submit a detailed application.

Our Partner Universities

Australian National University logo
Charles Sturt University logo
Macquarie university logo
University of New South Wales logo
University of Newcastle logo
University of Sydney logo
University of Wollongong logo
University of Technology Sydney logo
Western Sydney University logo