New Initiative for Small to Medium Enterprises (SME) through the Defence Industry Competitive Evaluation Research Agreement (ICERA) Initiative.

Partnering Opportunity

Defence Science and Technology Group (DST) through its NGTF program is seeking research and development proposals from Australian SMEs to contribute to Australian Defence Force Capability. Up to $6m may be awarded to the Defence SME sector as part of this initiative.

Cash support of up to $250,000 per proposal will be provided for projects up to 18 months in duration.

In order to align with current priorities as outlined in the 2020 Defence Strategic Update  and the Defence S&T Strategy 2030 proposals will be considered in three Tiers. Tier 1 proposals will be given preference, over Tier 2 with Tier 3 proposals given the lowest priority. Only exceptional proposals in Tier 3 will be considered for funding. Successful applications will have a clear linkage to the below problem statements and will have the potential to mature the technology aligned with NGTF objectives.

Tier 1 Priority

Tier 2 Priority

Tier 3 Priority

How to Apply

In order to be considered, all proposals must be submitted via the DST portal by the due date. No extensions will be granted.

Responses to queries that may be of relevance to other applicants will be posted on the FAQ and Noticeboard page. Please review this page to ensure you have the most up to date information.

Submission notification emails will for forwarded to your registered email once your proposal has been successfully submitted.

Submissions must be made in accordance with the guidelines provided by DST and the attached Request For Proposal NGTF Conditions of Participation.

DIN Seed Project Leverage Scheme

In response to ICERA call, the Defence Innovation Network has established the Seed Project Leverage Scheme that will allow NSW-based SMEs to co-develop innovative technologies together with NSW universities. DIN Seed Project Leverage Scheme will provide up to $50K per project to match $50K industry cash contributions on a competitive basis. More information about the DIN top-up funds is here.

Key Dates

Application Opening Date: Wednesday 19 August 2020 AEDST
Application Closing Date: 1700 Friday 18 September 2020 AEDST
Indicative Award Announcement Date: Thursday 15 October 2020


Our Partner Universities

Australian National University logo
Charles Sturt University logo
Macquarie university logo
University of New South Wales logo
University of Newcastle logo
University of Sydney logo
University of Wollongong logo
University of Technology Sydney logo
Western Sydney University logo